Table Topics Tuesday: Happiness In The Present

Table Topic Tuesday 1.22.13

I recently purchased a set of “Table Topics: Happiness” from Target the other week and I love them! (Did I mention they were 90% off?!) They are great conversation starters and fun to flip through. Last week, I came across this card as I was getting ready and  it’s been my head constantly ever since.

Each year, it’s evident everyone is at least somewhat discontent with where they are currently. Why else would there be New Year’s Resolutions? I know I’ve spent most of my time these first few weeks of 2013 imagining what life will be like in 5-10 years. I’ve already written out a few practical action steps to make those dreams come true- blogging is one of them!

I firmly believe vision and personal growth are a good thing (I am actually very passionate about them), but I feel when we focus too much on the future we miss out on a great opportunity to truly enjoy the moment and the place we’re at in life RIGHT NOW. There’s always something that the present teaches us: contentment.

Take a moment today and think your life in its current state. Even if you’re not where you imagine yourself in 5-10 years, identify the things in your life that you can celebrate. Dwell on it. Thank God for it. Choose to have an attitude of joy because of it. Be content with yourself.

As you continue your week, be intentional about taking a moment each day to find the good in life. If you think hard enough, you’ll find one. . . and some days it might only be just one. If it is, cling tightly to it and don’t let busyness and stress steal it away from you.

Oh, and don’t worry, you’re not alone. I’m going to re-read this post tomorrow as well.

Act Justly. Love Mercy. Walk Humbly.

mc

Leave a Reply

